Yoga, Physiotherapy, Health, Sankhya, Metaphysics, Sanatana Dharma, Perennialists & Hinduism

Sanskrit, Bija Mantras, Palate, Planets & Chakras

on May 16, 2012

The previous post provided the 108 beeja mantras connected to the 27 Nakshatras with their 4 “padas”.

The “Bija” means “seed”, and is used in this context to indicate the seed sounds that generated the Universe in its manifold ways. 108 is the alpha (1) and omega (8) of numbers; revealing the infinite potentiality of consciousness that arose within the ellipsoid pattern of planetary motion and the shape of the milky way represented by the Nakshatras. Thus, the concept is that the Universe sprang up from the original “big bang”, or singularity of AUM, to expand and become the cosmic vibration, reverberating with primordial intelligence into 108 parts in time and space.

Of course, there is no proof for this other than the authority of Sages and God realised beings who shared this cosmological (metaphysical) science to help man live in harmony with the nature of things. Only a  practical experimentation with this “bija” mantric  knowledge, and a spirit of adventure and faith can prove its effectiveness as an integral practice to Yoga.

However, having studied the symbolic language of  Jyotish (Vedic Astrology), an interesting observation for me, with regards to the bija mantras of the Nakshatras, is that all the vowels are placed in Krittika and Rohini Nakshatra. In Vedic mythology & jyotish, Kritikka (Pleadies-Alcyone-Central Sun)) is considered the Nakshatra where the Moon was born, gets its exaltation, as well as the transition from the unmanifest potential of Aries into the manifest realm of Taurus (Rohini).

The birth of “Consciousness” is co-incidentally celebrated every “Karthikai Deepam” at Arunachala mountain, South India on a full Moon day when the Moon is in Kriticca Nakshatra to commemorate the appearance of “SiVa” or God as a pillar of Light. & Notably, Kritikka Nakshatras spans the end of Aries and beginning of Taurus.  Thus, it suggest to me that the vowels represent the primordial sounds that make consonants manifest.

Krittika Nakshatra (26 & 2/3rd degrees Aries to 10 degrees Taurus)
A (as in ananda)
I (as in iridescent)
U (as in uvula)
E (as in egg)
Rohini Nakshatra (10 degrees Taurus to 23 & 1/3 Taurus)
O (as in odor)
Va (as in vanilla)
Vi (as in Vina)
Vo (as in vote)

This is followed by the sounds starting with master letters “V” and “K”, with “Ka” being the first consonant and vowel in the Sanskrit alphabet.

Mrigashira Nakshatra (23 & 1/3 Taurus to 6 &2/3rd degrees Gemini)
Ve (as in Veda)
Vo (as in votary)
Ka (as in Kanji)
Ke (as in Kenya)
Ardra Nakshatra (6 &2/3rd degrees Gemini to 20 degrees Gemini)
Ku (as in Kuwait)

Thus, all the letters that make up AUM are made up in these early 5 padas with the letter “M’ in the Nakshatra of Magha; the Nakshatra associated with death of the body.

Magha Nakshatra (0 degrees Leo to 13 & 1/3rd degrees Leo)
Ma (as in maya)
Mi (as in miracle)
Mu (as in mudra)
Me (as in megabyte)

Of course, the above examples are my speculation, conjecture or just plain co-incidence, but this post is a short one to provide some resources for researching into if there is any pattern in the possible connection between Nakshatra beeja mantras and commonly used beeja mantras,  such as those used in Tantra.

Most the downloadable Pdf links are of Dr David Frawley’s  work of making this ancient knowledge accessible and contemporary for a modern day Yogi. &  There are some useful links to learn the phonetics behind Sanskrit, followed by his books on Bija mantras. To make the connection of Bija sounds to Chakras, you will need to download and read the works yourself (or better still, buy the useful books). All in all, this is an extrememly subtle subject to cover and, I think it’s better I share the tools rather than make an inadequate intepretation on the subject.

Sanskrit Links

Bija mantras

Dr David Frawley’s Relevant Books

Mantra Yoga & Primal Sounds

Inner Tantric Yoga

Palate & Planets

For more on the connection of planets to the different parts of the palate please refer to the link:-

Jyotish Charts and the important to the 2nd House

In addition, you might want to study the concept of houses in Jyotish astrology through the works of Bepin Behari. He reveals through his esoteric books, how the there are 4 groupings of houses that help reveal how the cosmlogical influences transpose onto the  individual’s constitution. The houses that make up the Mysterious Depths (or churning of the cosmological ocean), such as the 2nd (speech), 6th (mother nature), 8th (kundalini and sexual energy) and 12th (the Bardo state) reveal hidden energies.  The 2nd house is expecially significant in this regard, revealing the potential energy endowed upon an individual at birth. An interesting study for those wanting to understand this inter-connection of Nakshatras to Jyotish to Ayurveda and Yoga, might be to consider the common occurrence of planets in  the 2nd house of many well known spiritual personages and analyse the expression of the planets in Nakshatras and their bija sounds?

2nd House placements of Spiritual Personages

For example, Vivekananda (Mercury), Ramakrishna (Venus), Aurobindo (Sun, Mercury & Venus), Ramana Maharishi (Mercury & Venus) & Sathya Sai Baba (Sun, Saturn, Venus).

What is another interesting observation for me, is that in Yogic physiology, the houses of the mysterious depth correlate to where Yogis apparently store there spiritual energy or “ojas” – 2nd (throat & eyes), 6th (hands and finger tips), 8th (regenerative system) & 12th (feets).

In addition, studying Dr David Frawleys’ books on Ayurvedic Astrology can give further detail on how Jyotish, Ayurveda and Yoga are inter-connected.

Lastly, you can refer back to the earlier mantra yoga post again to observe the linguistic connection to the beeja namtras connected to the 7 chakras.

In addition, for those interested in the connection of Taoist Yoga “bija” sounds to the 5 elements and the 5 organs, I recomend the simple introduction to it’s yogic practices in the book “Taosit Yoga & Chi Kung” by Yude Love. These sounds exhaled during specific physical exercises that are used to expel toxins and heat into the surrounding “fascia”, and are combined with (colour) visualisation techniques to direct Chi to the respective organs.

Organ = Sound = Element

Spleen/pancreas sound = “Wh-O-O-O-O-O” = Earth

Lung sound = “S-S-S-S-S-S” = Metal (air)

Heart sound = “H-A-W-W-W” = Fire

Liver sound = “S-H-H-H-H-H” = Wood (ether)

Kidney sound = “CHU-W-A-A-Y” = Water

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: